Child pages
  • Student Preview

Contents

Student Preview

Student Preview allows instructors to view their course as if they were a student in the course, without having to request and use a "demo student" account.

To enable Student Preview, click on the icon in the upper right.

Click on Student Preview icon (two arrows and a dot)

Once Student Preview is enabled, you can navigate through your course just as a student would.

Instructor view of the Welcome page:

Instructor view of Welcome page

Student view of the Welcome page:

Student view of the Welcome page (inability to edit)

When you exit Student Preview, you will see these options:

Saving options when exiting Student Preview

  1. Choose this option ("Delete the preview user and all data") if you have used Student Preview merely to see what your course looks like to a student, and you did not take any action (like take a test, submit an assignment, participate in a discussion forum, or something else).
  2. Use this option ("Keep the preview user and all data") if you have used Student Preview to take a test, submit an assignment, participate in a discussion forum, or taken some other action, which you would then like to see from your instructor view. In other words, if you entered Student Preview and submitted an assignment, and would then like to return to the instructor view to see the submission, choose this option.

 For more information about Student Preview, see this page from Blackboard:

https://help.blackboard.com/en-us/Learn/9.1_2014_04/Instructor/130_Student_Performance/Student_Preview